Five Resolutions for 2010

As I bring in the New Year, here are my five resolutions for 2010

Stop worrying: This is something that I can never do. I need something on my mind to keep me at my toes. It could be anything from my own problems to the woes of my dear and near ones. This year, I am determined not to lose peace of mind over things I cannot change, or stop from happening.

Great Expectations: Expectations are the driving force of our lives, no doubt. I believe we stop living the moment we stop anticipating, but the other side of expectations is the fear of dissatisfaction and discontentment. I resolve not to expect and just do what I should.

The Gita says-  Karmanye vadhikaraste ma phaleshu kadachna

Karmaphalehtur bhurma te sangostvakarmani.

You have a right to perform your prescribed duty, but you are not entitled to the fruits of action. Never consider yourself the cause of the results of your activities, and never be attached to not doing your duty.

Though the rebel in me has always questioned this teaching of the Gita, with experience I seem to understand why this might have been said. We have no control over what can happen to us, though we all firmly believe in ‘it is my life’ philosophy. We can never claim total control over what happens to us. No wonder this verse is so popular.

Judgment: While we hate people analysing us, we think it is our birthright to judge others. I may meet even the worst people in this world, but I am not going to pass any judgment. Wait, by saying worse, am I not judging again?

Rigidity: It is better to bend than risk breaking, said some noble soul. But, I have believed neither in the first nor the second part of that saying. This year I am going to try and adapt to what happens rather than resisting the change. Hey wait a minute! Can anyone solve this puzzle for me? Isn’t it cowardice to give up? Should we not try and make a difference to our lives rather than surrendering to fate? What is wrong in not wanting what is offered and asking for something else?

To stick to the above four: I dare not make more resolutions; these four are enough to give  my character a total makeover. Plus, those who are close to me will fail to identity me, even if I succeed in adopting one of these resolutions.

4 Responses to “Five Resolutions for 2010”

  1. hey janani, i think fifth one is the best as I always make resolutions but fail to stick to them . All the best for ur fifth resolutions!!!!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    jus stumbled across ur blog….u literally had me floored…beautiful lines…neatly composed nd vehemently thought out must say…

  3. Hey,

    Nice blog you have here, neatly penned and very downright earthy is what i’d call,

    Nice read , with a bit of Marxist philosophical shade.
    Touche i’d say.

    Keep up the good work. You convey your thoughts well, i assume u have a good love life . Communication works i suppose,

Leave a comment