Vanity Fair

I am not a feminist, let me clarify that. But before that, I must also clarify I have nothing against women. For all my female friends, this post might be hard to digest, but if they really understand my points I am sure they will agree with my views. Ok, let me chuck all the build-up and get directly to the point.

Earlier this month, just after my salary was credited to my account, I set out to do what I do the best– shopping in Landmark and Lifestyle. Since it was a Saturday, the huge crowd was expected and so was the long queue outside trial rooms. I stood in the queue, waiting for my turn.

I pitied the trial room in-charge, who kept yelling at the customers for barging into the rooms. “Only three outfits at a time. Why don’t you wait till I check the trial rooms after a person has finished  trying out clothes? You can wait for 2 minutes,” she said.

 It was a sad spectacle: a dozen women jostling with each other to enter the rooms, while some took nearly 20 minutes to try clothes. By the time the entire hoopla ended and my turn came, I was totally exhausted. I took a few clothes and tried them out as fast as I could; I wanted to leave the place before the pandemonium gained more momentum. As I left the passage, I saw some five girls emerging from a trial room. Apparently, it was one of them trying out a few clothes and the rest of them had accompanied her for help. The in-charge was at her limit now. But no amount of yelling and warning was going to stop the unruly crowd of young girls and women from running amok.

I left Lifestyle in a huff, but I just couldn’t forget the mayhem. It is not that I haven’t been a witness to such scenes earlier. However, this time I couldn’t stop wonder about a few things. Why is that we see only women, educated and uneducated, indulging in such cheap antics like jostling outside a trial room, tugging at a saree or a dress that someone else has already picked?

 The other day when I was expressing my indignation over a female passenger elbowing me out with her huge hand to catch a seat during a bus journey, one of my male pals said with a smirk, “Don’t you know that is how you  should behave? That is being a woman.” I certainly didn’t agree with him. But, after the horrendous experience in Lifestyle, I have begun to wonder if he was right.

I have never seen a man pushing another man to catch a seat, though I have seen them occupying seats reserved for women. Never have I seen a commotion outside trial rooms for men, or a man snatching a shirt/ trouser that someone else has already picked.

If at all being a part of this vanity fair is what that makes you a woman, like my friend said, I am fine with not being acknowledged as one.

2 Responses to “Vanity Fair”

  1. Yes I totally agree. Women can freak you out. Especially in the buses .. tell me about it. Its the saddest when u sit. Coz huge aunties come and lean over you and you practically get squeezed in into their chests. Its a horrifying experience especially when your sexual orientation is straight.

Leave a Reply

